December 13, 2016
Snap, still known by most as Snapchat, today debuted a new Groups feature, giving you the ability to converse with as many as 16 friends at once.
You can create a Group while sending a Snap or by selecting friends’ names when starting a Chat. When your friends are present in a Group Chat, you will be able to see their name at the bottom of the screen.
You can tap the name of a friend to chat one-on-one and return to the Group Chat with a single swipe of the finger. Dubbed Quick Chat, Snap describes it as “the fastest way to keep the conversation going with one friend without spamming the entire Group.”
Group Chats are deleted by default after 24 hours has elapsed. Snaps that are sent to a Group can be opened and replayed once only by each group member. Unopened Snaps are also deleted after 24 hours.
Snapchat, which this fall changed its company name to Snap Inc., also introduced some new tools. New to Snap are two new creative features: Scissors and Paintbrush. Scissors can be used to cut out part of a Snap on the Preview Screen to turn it into a sticker. The Paintbrush, meanwhile, can be used on Snaps in Memories to make a Snap “an artistic masterpiece.”
Jennifer Cowan is the Managing Editor for SiteProNews.