January 10, 2014
Google has further integrated Gmail and its social network to allow anyone who has a Google+ account to e-mail you even if they don’t have your address.
“Have you ever started typing an e-mail to someone only to realize halfway through the draft that you haven’t actually exchanged e-mail addresses?” Gmail product manager David Nachum said in a blog post. “If you are nodding your head ‘yes’ and already have a Google+ profile, then you’re in luck, because now it’s easier for people using Gmail and Google+ to connect over e-mail.”
The new system works by bringing up your Google+ connections in your Gmail contacts list, rather than the traditional Gmail address.
Despite the new integration of the two services, your e-mail address will only be shared with the people of your choosing. Your e-mail address is only visible to a Google+ connection once you send that person an e-mail and vice versa.
“You control whether people can reach you this way with a new setting in Gmail,” Nachum said. “E-mailing Google+ connections also takes advantage of Gmail’s new inbox‘s categories.”
If someone from one of your circles send you a message, it will turn up in the Primary category. If someone from outside your circles send you an e-mail, it will be filtered into the Social category (if enabled). That person can converse with you only if you respond to the e-mail or add him or her to your circles.
The new feature, which will be rolling out over the next few days, is available to everyone that uses Gmail and Google+. Those with accounts will receive an e-mail with information and a link to the setting once it becomes available.
Jennifer Cowan is the Managing Editor for SiteProNews.